Abbey and Mayor is the fifth expansion to the core game. It contains three new figures for each player, an Abbey for each player and a number of new tiles. The new figures include the Mayor , a follower who may be placed as a Knight in a city. When the city is scored, he counts as one follower per pennant in the city. If the city has no pennants and a player only has a mayor in a city, that player scores no points from it.
|Published (Last):||19 December 2010|
|PDF File Size:||19.88 Mb|
|ePub File Size:||13.64 Mb|
|Price:||Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]|
The 1st Edition Major Expansion 5 was originally released in This expansion introduces new tiles including the special abbey tiles, that allow players to close gaps in the game board. It also introduces new figures with special characteristics:. Each player receives 1 Abbey tile. If you are playing with fewer than 6 players, return the remaining Abbey tiles to the box.
Shuffle the new Land tiles with those from the base game and any other expansions you wish to use. Place them in multiple stacks, as usual. Then give each player the following 3 figures in their color: 1 mayor , 1 wagon , and 1 barn. Each player adds these figures to their regular supply of meeples. If you wish to place an abbey, do not draw a Land tile at the beginning of your turn. Instead of drawing and placing a Land tile, place your Abbey tile.
An abbey may only be placed in an empty space surrounded on its 4 orthogonally adjacent sides. In other words, the abbey may only be used to fill a hole. What is depicted on the 4 adjacent tiles fields, roads, cities does not matter; the abbey always fits. If no such hole exists, you may not place your abbey. If one or more players have not placed their abbey when the last landscape tile is drawn and placed, they may still do so, in clockwise order starting from the left of the person who placed the last tile, as long as it is in accordance with the rules.
The game is then over. The abbey behaves like a monastery. You may choose to place a meeple as a monk onto your abbey. The abbey completes the side of each tile directly adjacent to it. Once you have placed your abbey and chosen whether or not to place a monk there , score any features completed by its placement.
Scoring the abbey itself, both during a game and at game end, is identical to scoring a monastery. You may place your mayor instead of placing a meeple. All other rules that apply to meeples also apply to mayors. The strength of your mayor is equal to the number of coats of arms in the city it occupies. If two or more players have meeples in the same city, it is scored as follows:.
When scoring a city, each player adds the strength of their meeples in the city. The player with the highest strength scores the points for that city. In case of a tie, all tied players score full points. If a city containing only mayors is completed, but with no coats of arms, each mayor has 0 strength and scores no points for the city. Question: Blue has a mayor in a city with no coats of arms. Does the city count as occupied? And if so, when the city is scored, will Blue score points? Answer: The city is occupied.
The mayor has no "strength," so it counts as if there is no meeple, and scores no points. You may place a barn instead of placing a meeple. In other words, the corner of each tile forming this junction must only depict a field in order for a barn to be placed there.
You may place your barn on a field already occupied by farmers. You may not, however, place your barn on a field already occupied by another barn. Therefore, the player with the most farmers in that field scores 3 points per completed city in the field.
It does not matter which player placed the barn that initiated this scoring. If you place a tile that connects a field occupied by one or more farmers to a field occupied by a barn, the connected field is scored during the scoring phase of that turn after 2. Placing a meeple. The player with the most farmers in that field scores only 1 point per completed city. If multiple barns occupy the same field, all concerned players score full points. You may place your wagon instead of placing a meeple.
When scoring a feature road, city, monastery, etc. After scoring, you may return the wagon to your supply, or you may move it to a directly adjacent unoccupied, incomplete feature road, city, monastery, etc.
Adjacent, in this case, means that the feature is on the same tile or a tile orthogonally or diagonally adjacent to the tile the wagon is moving from. If several wagons are involved in a scoring phase, each concerned player chooses whether to return or move their wagon in clockwise order starting with the active player. Question: Can you deploy a wagon to a city, score it, and then move the wagon to another feature, all in one turn?
Or can you only move the wagon instead of deploying a normal meeple? Answer: The wagon can be deployed instead of a normal meeple. After scoring, the wagon can be moved. All of that is possible in a single turn.
This section contains additional information about the interactions with other Carcassonne expansions. Question: If cities with trade goods are completed by placement of an abbey tile, are the goods tokens awarded as usual to the player placing the abbey tile? Question: May the pig be placed on a farm that was just connected to a farm with a barn, i. Answer: Yes, the pig may be placed in already occupied features [and the normal "Move Wood" phase still happens].
Answer: Yes, that's allowed. Only immediately scored points matter. It doesn't matter that the barn is certain to score at the end of the game. Question: Are the meeples in the market district only used at the end of the game? Answer: This is no longer entirely true. Placing of a barn, and the subsequent scoring of the field, does count as an opportunity to remove a meeple from the city of Carcassonne.
Now that fields can be scored at times other than at the end of the game, meeples from the market can be moved to fields earlier in the game. That occurs immediately after the placement of the barn, and before the fields are scored.
Question: Can a meeple be moved from the city of Carcassonne to a field with a barn? Answer: Yes, the farmer will be scored immediately, and so scores only 1 point per city and is importantly not on the field during the final scoring proper. Scoring fields with a barn. Several tiles have a small illustration on them.
The letters in brackets show which illustration is on each tile:. For Icons licensing and explanation please visit Icons page. From WikiCarpedia. Jump to: navigation , search. Other languages:. Expansion symbol. Abbey tile. Placing a tile. Example 1: Since 4 tiles are already adjacent to that empty space, you may place your Abbey tile there. Scoring a feature. The road with the blue meeple is complete.
Blue scores 3 points. Placing a mayor. If two or more players have meeples in the same city, it is scored as follows: Each normal meeple has 1 strength. Each mayor has strength equal to the number of coats of arms in the city.
If there are no coats of arms, the mayor has 0 strength. The value of a city is not affected by a mayor. When a city is completed, mayors in that city are returned to their respective supplies. Your mayor has 3 strength 3 coats of arms. The 2 blue meeples add up to 2 strength. You alone score 20 points. Placing a barn. Example 2 - The corners of both bottom tiles have city segments: you may not place a barn here.
Then, all farmers occupying that field are returned to their respective supplies. Example 3: You place a barn. Blue scores 6 points for the 2 completed cities in the same field and returns her farmer to her supply. You and Blue each score 2 points for the 2 completed cities in that field and return the farmers to your supplies. Placing a wagon.
Abbey and the Mayor
Abbey and Mayor
Carcassonne: Abbey & Mayor exp 5